The Cricket World Cup (officially known as ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup) is the international championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket. This tournament is organized every four years by the sport’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), with preliminary qualifying rounds leading up to a finals tournament. This tournament is one of the most-watched sports event worldwide and is the “flagship event in the international cricket calendar” according to the International Cricket Council (ICC)

In June 1975, England hosted the first World Cup, four years immediately after ODI cricket had been played for the first time. It should be noted, however, that a separate Women’s Cricket World Cup was held two years before the first men’s tournament, and a triangular tournament featuring Australia, England, and South Africa was held as early as 1912. England held the first three World Cups. A rotating system of unofficial hosting has been in place since 1987, with fourteen ICC members hosting a match at least once.

1975 marked the inaugural competition of the Cricket World Cup, which consisted of 60-over one-day matches. The first edition of the event was held outside England in 1987, in India and Pakistan. Similarly, the number of overs per side was reduced to 50 in 1987. A history-making win by Australia in 2007 marked the first time the team had won three consecutive World Cups.

In the current format, the teams enter the tournament phase only after passing the qualification phase that occurs over the previous three years. During the tournament phase, ten teams, including the automatically qualified host nation, contend for the title at a venue within the host nation over about a month. A 14-team final competition will be introduced in the 2027 edition as the format changes.

During the eleven editions of the tournament, a total of twenty teams have participated, with ten teams participating in the latest edition. It has been won five times by Australia, twice by India and the West Indies and once by England, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and West Indies. Kenya made it to the semi-finals of the 2003 tournament, the best performance by a non-full-member team.

After winning the 2019 World Cup, England is the current world champion. It is anticipated that India will host the next World Cup in 2023, while South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia will host the subsequent World Cup in 2027. 

The following table lists the winners of the ICC Men’s World Cup in 50 overs along with the runners-up and hosts for each year that the event was organized:

Year / World Cup  Winner / RunnerUp / Host / FinalsVenue 

1975 / West Indies / Australia/ England / Lord’s Cricket Ground, London

1979 / West Indies / England/ England / Lord’s Cricket Ground, London

1983 / India / West Indies / England / Lord’s Cricket Ground, London

1987 / Australia / England/ India & Pakistan / Eden Gardens, Kolkata

1992 / Pakistan / England / Australia &NewZealand / Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne

1996 / Sri Lanka / Australia/ India, Pakistan & Sri- Lanka/ Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

1999 / Australia / Pakistan / England / Lord’s Cricket Ground, London

2003 / Australia / India / Australia/ Wanderers, Johannesburg

2007 / Australia / Sri Lanka / Australia / Kensington Oval, Bridgetown

2011 / India / Sri Lanka / India / Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

2015 / Australia / New Zealand / Australia / Melbourne Cricket Ground

2019 / England / New Zealand / England / Lord’s Cricket Ground, London

ICC World Cup Winning Captains List

It is the captain who makes the difference between winning and losing a cricket match. It is often the captain of the team who plays a crucial role in winning an ICC trophy. Check out the below charts for a detailed look at the captains of cricket world cup winners:

Year Winner         Captain

2019 England         Eoin Morgan

2015 Australia         Michael Clarke

2011 India               MS Dhoni

2007 Australia         Ricky Ponting

2003 Australia         Ricky Ponting

1999 Australia         Steve Waugh

1996 Sri Lanka         Arjuna Ranatunga

1992 Pakistan         Imran Khan

1987 Australia         Allan Border

1983 India                     Kapil Dev

1979 West Indies         Clive Lloyd

1975 West Indies         Clive Lloyd